Hillary Beall wins A-League Women Goalkeeper of the Year

Hillary Beall Western United

Hillary Beall has etched her name further into Australian football history by winning the Liberty A-League Women Golden Glove – Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Presented at the Dolan Warren Awards night on Thursday, the award recognised Beall’s starring role in Western United’s remarkable inaugural Liberty A-League campaign.

Western United Head Coach Mark Torcaso hailed Beall’s impact on the team and on the league as a whole after a superb campaign.

“I am delighted for Hillary to be deservedly recognised as the Goalkeeper of the Year. Hillary was outstanding for us all season and had a major impact on and off the pitch,” he said.

“It was an honour to work with her and she will have a lasting legacy at our Club. I would also like to give a special mention to our goalkeeper coach Tony Belica for his outstanding work, and Alyssa Dall’Oste who maintained top quality training standards that pushed Hillary all season.

Western United General Manager of Football Mal Impiombato added:

“We are extremely proud of Hillary and her achievements this season. She has been the ultimate professional since arriving at the Club and we are glad that she has been recognised by the broader football community for the impact she had in our inaugural season.

“She deserves this individual accolade and we are proud to call her our own.”

Beall quickly made an impression among her new colleagues after arriving on loan from Racing Louisville at the beginning of the season.

The American emerged as a key leader as an inaugural vice-captain and shone on the pitch, keeping five clean sheets and making 61 total saves.

Beall was recognised for her performances with Player of the Month honours in January and February, a nomination for the Liberty A-League Fans’ Player of the Season award and a place in the PFA Team of the Season.

The star shot stopper also scooped up Western United’s inaugural Liberty A-League Player of the Season award, ensuring a suitcase full of hardware to bring home to the United States.

The Goalkeeper of the Year was not the only honour Beall won, claiming the Liberty A-League Save of the Year for a ridiculous top-corner save from Brisbane Roar’s Shea Connors.

Beall joined Torcaso in claiming prizes on the night, with the United boss winning the Liberty A-League Coach of the Year.

Hannah Keane was also formally recognised as the Liberty A-League Golden Boot winner. The American was the competition’s leading attacker, netting 13 goals in 18 matches.