Western United’s first game: key info ahead of historic clash


Western United will make history on Sunday afternoon when they make their Hyundai A-League debut in Wellington.

The A-League’s 11th club will do battle with the Phoenix in an epic round 1 clash. 

The A-League’s all-time top goalscorer Besart Berisha could make his A-League return. The former Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory striker signed for the Green and Black last month after a short stint with Sanfrecce Hiroshima in Japan.

Berisha will be looking to add to his total goal tally in the competition, currently standing at 106.

United’s two international marquees are also poised to make their A-League debuts. Italian star Alessandro Diamanti and Greek international Panagiotis Kone will look to light up the competition from game one.

After United’s final hitout last week against Western Sydney Wanderers, head coach Mark Rudan said there were a number of positives about the team’s development leading into Round 1. 

“There was a lot to like. For 60 minutes we totally controlled the game. We could’ve easily been three or four up at half time with the number of chances we had.”

Former Socceroo Scott McDonald scored the opening goal for United after just 90 seconds.

“And we started the second half brightly, with another good opportunity for Scott.

“So it’s positive. Having these 11 players play together and execute what we’ve been working on in training, against very strong opposition, is nothing but positive.”

Match Details

Sunday 13, October 2019

Kick-off: 4.00 AEDT

Venue: Westpac Stadium

Broadcast: FOX Sports 505

Stream: Kayo Sports

Did you know?

  • Mark Rudan (Western United) was victorious in his A-League coaching debut last season when Wellington Phoenix defeated Newcastle Jets 2-1 in Round 1, 2018/19.
  • Filip Kurto (Western United) made a competition-high 95 saves in A-League 2018/19 – albeit in the jersey of his former club, Wellington Phoenix.

Kone Diamanti


United’s first home in the A-League is Saturday, October 19 against reigning Premiers Perth Glory at GMHBA Stadium in Geelong. 

Want the best-value membership in the Hyundai A-League? 

CLICK HERE to become a Western United member.