Western United A-League Women Squad: Round 7 vs Newcastle Jets

Sydney Cummings Western United

Western United will look to bounce back from defeat against Perth Glory on Wednesday night, and Mark Torcaso has named an 18-player extended squad that he hopes will get the job done.

It is an unchanged extended list from Saturday’s match, but Torcaso will have room to rotate within the squad with a number of players hoping to feature in the starting line-up.

Aleksandra Sinclair and Natasha Dakic were left out of the matchday squad on Saturday but return to the extended squad for this one. Sinclair is yet to start this season while Dakic has been in the XI just once, so both will be hoping to put themselves into contention.

Adriana Taranto started from the bench for the first time last week and will hope to get straight back into the starting line-up as Torcaso balances his options in midfield.

Kahli Johnson has continued to make an impact as a substitute and will hope for another opportunity from the start as well.

January Player of the Month nominees Hillary Beall and Hannah Keane should be ready to go again, one tasked with keeping goals out of one net and the other seeking to strike at the other end.

Stacey Papadopoulos and Harriet Withers remain long-term injury absentees, while Chloe Logarzo will also miss again due to injury.

Full Western United squad

Western United squad: 1. Alyssa DALL’OSTE (gk), 4. Jaclyn SAWICKI, 5. Aimee MEDWIN, 7. Francesca IERMANO, 9. Hannah KEANE, 10. Kahli JOHNSON, 11. Emma ROBERS, 13. Danielle STEER, 14. Natasha DAKIC, 15. Adriana TARANTO, 16. Melissa TARANTO, 18. Aleksandra SINCLAIR, 19. Tyla Jay VLAJNIC, 20. Sydney CUMMINGS, 21. Hillary BEALL (gk), 22. Alana CERNE, 23. Angie BEARD, 24. Julia SARDO

Ins: 14. Natasha DAKIC, 18. Aleksandra SINCLAIR

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 2. Stacey PAPADOPOULOS (injured), 6. Chloe LOGARZO (injured), 12. Harriet Withers (injured)

*two to be omitted

Match Details

Liberty A-League Women Round 7

Western United vs Newcastle Jets

Wednesday, 8 February

Kick-off: 5:30pm AEDT

Morshead Park, Ballarat

Broadcast: The match will be broadcast live and free on 10Play, and on Paramount+