Western United to host opening round of 2021/22 A-League Season

Western United will kick off its 2021/22 A-League season with a blockbuster clash against Melbourne Victory.

John Aloisi’s first competitive match in charge of the Club will be held at GMHBA Stadium in Geelong on Saturday November 20, kicking off at 7:45pm AEDT.

In a landmark moment for the club and for Australian football, the clash will be shown live on Channel 10 as the A-League moves into a bright future with the new deal with ViacomCBS.

The fixture will mark a return to Geelong for the Club for the first time since January, with an opportunity to play in front of the club’s loyal fans in that region.

With a huge opening fixture and a long-awaited return to where it all began at GMHBA Stadium, Round 1 is set to be a big start to what proves to be a promising campaign.

Round 2 is equally as exciting as the Green and Black will take to Lakeside Stadium for the first time as part of a new deal for this season.

The first of the seven home games to be played at the Albert Park venue will come against Perth Glory on Friday November 26 with kick-off at 7:45 AEDT.

Lakeside Stadium has easy access for United’s fans coming from the west, is an ideal venue designed for football and will create a fantastic matchday experience for the Club’s supporters.

The third round of the season will see Aloisi’s men take on the reigning champions Melbourne City for the first time, with a meeting on Saturday December 4 scheduled for a 7:45pm AEST kick-off at AAMI Park.

Rounds 4 and 5 will be typical home fixtures again, with Brisbane Roar coming to GMHBA Stadium on Saturday December 11 at 5:05pm AEST before United faces off against Adelaide United at Lakeside Stadium on Friday December 17 at 7:45pm AEST.

The sixth and final round scheduled at the moment will be a return fixture against Melbourne Victory who will host Aloisi’s side at AAMI Park on Boxing Day, with kick-off once again at 7:45pm AEST.

That will lead the league into the new year, by which time it is hoped that each respective state will be adequately open to accommodate interstate travel and allow all teams to play home games in their own venues.

The release of an official fixture for the opening rounds comes with both great relief and excitement for the club, with Aloisi and the players continuing to work towards being ready for the opening day.

Western United full opening fixtures 

Round 1 – Melbourne Victory, GMHBA Stadium, 7:45pm AEDT 

Round 2 – Perth Glory, Lakeside Stadium, 7:45pm AEDT 

Round 3 – Melbourne City, AAMI Park, 7:45pm AEDT (Away)

Round 4 – Brisbane Roar, GMHBA Stadium, 5:05pm AEDT 

Round 5 – Adelaide United, Lakeside Stadium, 7:45pm 

Round 6 – Melbourne Victory, AAMI Park, 7:45pm (Away)