Western United announces unretained Isuzu UTE A-League players

Western United A-League Men

Following the completion of the Isuzu UTE A-League Men season, Western United can confirm the players that will not be retained following the expiration of their contracts.

Leo Lacroix will depart the Club after spending two seasons in Green and Black, amassing 50 Isuzu UTE A-League appearances.

The Swiss centre-back was a key part of United’s 2021/22 Championship-winning team, earning recognition in the PFA Team of the Season.

Also pivotal players in United’s run to the 2022 title, Jamie Young and Neil Kilkenny will depart the Club at the conclusion of their contracts.

Young started all 56 league matches since he joined the Club, keeping 16 clean sheets and producing a number of stunning saves along the way.

Kilkenny totalled 47 league games for United and was a key leader in midfield, wearing the captain’s armband on occasion and helping to set the team’s foundations over the past two seasons.

Goalkeeper Ryan Scott will depart United having been a part of the Club since its inaugural season signing in November 2019.

Scott played 21 times for the Green and Black and became a fan favourite, developing a special connection with the Club’s supporter base in the stands.

After becoming part of Western United’s inaugural Academy side in 2021, Ben Collins, Adisu Bayew and Ajak Deu will move on from the Club.

Representing the first crop of United’s Academy graduates, Bayew played 25 times in the Isuzu UTE A-League and scored two goals, the first of which made him the Club’s third youngest ever goal scorer.

The inaugural Western United Under 23’s captain, Collins made two league appearances for United, while Deu has helped the Academy achieve promotion to NPL 2 Victoria this year.

Midfielders Tongo Doumbia and James Troisi will also depart Western United after spending one season in the West.

Doumbia played 20 matches and scored two goals, while Troisi made 18 appearances and provided two assists across the campaign.

The unretained players are joined by Alessandro Diamanti and Nikolai Topor-Stanley in departing the Club, with the duo having announced their respective retirements from professional football.

Western United General Manager of Football Mal Impiombato thanked each player for their service to the Club.

“On behalf of the Western United FC family, we wish to thank each of these players for their significant contribution. They have all played an important part in building and strengthening our young Club. We hope that each player will depart the Club with fond memories,” he said.

“We wish them every success with their next steps, and they will be forever etched into our Club’s history.”

Full Western United Isuzu UTE A-League unretained list

Leo Lacroix

Jamie Young

Neil Kilkenny

Ryan Scott

Ben Collins

Adisu Bayew

Ajak Deu

Tongo Doumbia

James Troisi

Alessandro Diamanti (retired)

Nikolai Topor-Stanley (retired)